Programme for Iodisation of Salt

      Iodine is an essential micro-nutrient needed by the human body everyday. Iodine in the body is utilised by the thyroid gland for the synthesis of Thyroxin, a hormone essential for the growth and development activities. The daily per capita requirement of Iodine varies from 40 micrograms for infants to 200 micrograms for pregnant and lactating mothers. Iodine deficiency is associated with Goitre, high incidence of abortions, still birth, low birth weight and infant mortality. There are evidences showing that iodine deficiency in pregnant mothers causes irrepairable retarded mental growth and development of the off spring.

            There are several options available for supplementation of iodine, viz: iodisation of water, iodised bread, iodised oil and iodised salt. The universally accepted, cost effective and simple method of dietory supplementation of iodine is through iodised salt.

            The average daily per capita requirement of iodine is of the order of 150 microgram. In India, the average daily consumption of salt per head is 10 gram. Hence, the salt should have a minimum of 15 PPM of iodine at the consumption level. Taking into consideration the loss of iodine during transport, storage etc. the iodine content at the manufacturing level has been fixed at 30 PPM.

            The Government of India has launched the National Iodine Deficiency Disorders Control Programme(NIDDCP) for the prevention and control of Iodine Deficiency Disorders(IDD) as a public health problem through Universal Iodisation of Edible Salt in 1986.

            The Director of Health Services and State Food (Health) Authority, Orissa had issued notification during 1989 banning sale of common salt other than iodised salt for human consumption for the revenue districts of Sundargarh & Puri, then by another notification on 1991 for the remaining 11 revenue districts. Subsequently the ban was withdrawn for a temporary period of 6 months in 1994 and by another notification up to 31st May,1995. Again the Director, Health Services and State Food(Health) Authorities, Orissa has withdrawn the ban on sale of common salt other than the iodised salt for human consumption for the whole State in their notification No.4909 dt. 31.3.2001. The ban has been again imposed in notification No.12544 dt.18.10.2001. Presently the ban is in force.

            For iodisation of salt produced in our State for human consumption, 8 iodisation salt plants have been installed. Out of the said plants, 5 are donated by UNICEF. The detailed particulars of iodised salt plants, commissioned in our State is furnished in Table-3.5.

States / Union Territories which have fully / partially
BANNED for sale of non-iodised salt for edible purpose

Fully Banned:



                   1.           Arunachal Pradesh.                       12.         Meghalaya.

                   2.           Assam.                                         13.         Mizoram.

                   3.           Bihar.                                           14.         Nagaland.

                   4.           Delhi                                            15.         Orissa.

                   5.           Goa.                                             16.         Punjab.

                   6.           Haryana.                                      17.         Rajasthan.

                   7.           Himachal Pradesh.                        18.         Sikkim.

                   8.           Jammu & Kashmir.                       19.         Tamilnadu.

                   9.           Karnataka.                                   20.         Tripura.

                   10.         Manipur.                                      22.         West Bengal.

                   11.         Madhya Pradesh.                         21.         Uttar Pradesh.


Union Territories

                                                1.         Andaman & Nicober.

                                                2.         Chandigarh.

                                                3.         Dadra & Nagar Haveli.

                                                4.         Daman & Diu.

                                                5.         Pondichery.

                                                6.         Lakshadweep.

Partially Banned:

1.      Maharasthra -               Aurangabad, Wardha, Amaravati, Baldhana, Satara, Dhule, Jalna, Thana, Nasik, Jalgaon, Nagpur, Bhandara, Gadcharoli, Nanded, Yavatmal, Latur, Ratnagiri (17 districts).

2.      Andhra Pradesh -          East Godavari, Vishakhapatnam, Adilbad, Khamman, Warangal, Srikakulam, Vijaynagaram.

No Ban:

                        1. Kerala.

                        2. Gujurat. 

Table - 3.5 

Name & Address of the Lincesees

Year of Establishment

Installed Capacity






Humma & Binchanapalli Salt Production & Sales Co-op. Societies Ltd., Ganjam


12000 M.T.

Donated by UNICEF.

Bahuda Salt Productions Sales Co-op. Societies Ltd., Surala, Ganjam


5000 M.T.


M/s Ganjam Salt Manufacturing Development Association, Humma, Ganjam


6000 M.T.


Sumandi Salt Manufacturing Development Association, Sumandi, Ganjam


12000 M.T.


Bolang Salt Manufacturing Industrial Co-op. Societies Ltd., Bolang, Balasore


12000 M.T.


Modi Brothers Main Road, Ganjam



3000 M.T.

M/s R. R. Modi & R.N Modi, Ganjam


3000 M.T.


M/s Bharat Salt Production & Sales Co-op. Societies Ltd., Salara, Ganjam


10000 M.T.




63000 M.T.